Imagining my next space

I’m sort of obsessed with wallpaper now. I’ve always liked it but rediscovered my interest in it when I was searching for wallpapers for Mom’s living room. It’s funny how tastes change. 5-6 years ago I really wanted a damask wallpapered bedroom with an aubergine upholstered headboard (I wouldn’t be caught dead with that now! :P). At the time I started this blog in 2014 I was really into giant floral papers and still liked touches of antiques. Now I’m way more about the geometrics and mid-century modern furniture. I do still like some of the classics though! The de Gournay Chinoiserie seems to be so fitting with the right MCM table (or a traditional table) and a well-mixed chair.

Seeing as how my next dwelling will be a rental again, I decided to check out the removable paper trend. There’s quite a lot to choose from! I ended up imaging an entire dream room in my Art of the Mix style.

theartofthemixlivingroom

(if your browser supports it, click to enlarge)

Color color everywhere! I started with the removable wallpaper, Rapids, from Chasing Paper. It comes in 3 colorways and I knew blue was the way to go. All this time I’ve been trying to have a blue room and it hasn’t happened (Oh, I’ll just reupholster those chairs in blue. I’ll paint this room in blue…).

I’m still pretty cool with all white walls so if I were to try out removable wallpaper in a rental, I’d probably just do a focal wall like this. Wallpaper is like art on its own, an added little bit of texture. I love that. I love the big announcement of color/design in your face! I’d have to really love it to commit to the entire room. That’s the beauty of this removable stuff. You could change your room as often as you fancy! 😉

In my next apartment, I’m going to have to find a tuxedo sofa with upholstered feet. I don’t know where or how but dang it, I will have one. I love my chesterfield but it is not really the sofa dreams are made of. It’s pretty rigid with the seat cushion sewn in. I want loose cushions that I can sink into. Also, Jim is a tall guy. He would like a sofa he can stretch out on. The Milo Baughman for Thayer Coggin sofa (as shown) is plenty long enough for his 6 foot frame. You know my thoughts on buying vintage. Do it to it! The downside is shipping and paying for reupholstery. Whamp whammmp.

Those are my beloved swivel chairs. 2 laptops or so ago I had a photo saved of someone’s amazing chair. All I know is it was green and some sort of animal print. I scoured the internet last night trying to find that dang picture. I think it was of a gay man’s home. A fashion designer or an interior designer? I have no idea! But the fabric was fluffy? Like thick fur. It did not lay flat like crushed velvet. I want fluffy chairs! I don’t know where to find fabric like that. This tiger moss colored animal print is from Lee Jofa and is some $2000 a freaking yard. Uh…. I will be finding a cheaper alternative. If you pay close attention to design magazines/books you’ll notice this print everywhere. I tossed in a blue velvet pillow to tie in the wall colors.

One thing I know for sure, besides that I must have the tuxedo sofa, is I’ve finally realized what kind of coffee table I need!  BURL WOOD! Oh my god. Look how amazing that is. AHHHHHHH. This one is French 1940s Art Deco. A cute little platform. Perfect for all the clutter in my life. 😛

Something I’d like to incorporate into my next home, should space allow, is the slipper chair. I chose these because of their shape, to compliment the upholstered feet of the tuxedo. I colorized them purple to bring out the purple in the rug and in the wallpaper. A little lumbar pillow would be necessary.

Also, I think it’s important to note that this room would still need to be functional without the wallpaper. Purple and yellow are complimentary colors. Purple isn’t too far off from red and we know red and green are complimentary. And blue and yellow are dear friends. At first glance one might be overwhelmed looking at this room but I think once you look around you see that I did put a great deal of thought into my choices.

I like to splatter elements of black and brass around the room. Here we have a black planter for our cactus, black books, and a black plant stand for Buddha. Brass elements include Lassie (I don’t have one of those but I do have a brass poodle!), the task lamps by the sofa, and the tripod lamp between the slipper chairs.

One thing I’ve picked up from the McGrath ladies and Jeffrey Bilhuber, is the use of tiny little lamps by the sofa. I really kind of love that!! I’m not sure if that’s a carry over from Billy Baldwin (both of them heavily influenced by his work).BB def had thing for the tuxedo!

For newness and modern fun, and because I’ve always been leaning towards acrylic coffee tables, I chose acrylic side tables.

I started to do a gallery wall but in all honesty I’m not really a fan. I don’t have a large collection of art so I don’t want to even bother faking it. I’d rather buy key pieces like the tuxedo and the burl wood coffee table and fill in the art gaps later! I do however have the lady and the mirrors are from Target. A cheap fix! Do I like it? I’d have to see it in a real space.

So, removable paper– very doable.
Rug, got it.
Credenza, already mine.
Chairs, mine. Just need that fabric!
Animal decor, I got worlds of that.
Pillows, easy to find.
Target tripod, already mine.
Plants, no worries there. I don’t have the Euphorbia cactus but I got the fiddle!

Need tuxedo sofa, burl wood table, acrylic end tables, 2 Target round mirrors, and 2 task lamps to make this room a reality.

artofmixlook

So, all of these sofas are sold out except for #2 from Jan Showers. But you can get an idea of what to look for! I believe all the burl wood tables are for sale!

Sofa 1, 2, 3, 4, 5. Table 1, 2, 3, 4, 5.
The Details: Rapids wallpaper, Target mirror, acrylic side table, adjustable pharmacy floor lamp, large black planter, antique rug, brass collie, plant stand (imagined black), Target brass tripod lamp, blue velvet lumbar pillows, Kuba cloth pillows,  lion, horse, similar swivel chairs (mmm, same dingy pink as mine!), slipper chairs 

What are your thoughts on this colorful Art of the Mix? I’m so heavily inspired by so many designers…so many are represented in what I do. I’m eager to move out of this garage and into a space of my own so I can start decorating again!!

 

One thought on “Imagining my next space

  1. Pingback: Imagining My Next Space: the Bedroom |

Leave a Reply

