Credenza styling

It’s the most beautiful piece of furniture I’ve ever seen. And it’s all mine πŸ˜‰

My credenza arrived on Wednesday after what seemed like a month long trek from Oregon to Alabama. Nearly…I purchased it on January 29, it shipped February 11, and it arrived February 24.

IMG_9190

I threw all this up here to take a pretty styled photo and ended up liking it just as it was. You may recognize the Target lamp, and that vase is Target too.

IMG_9189IMG_9200IMG_9197

A bit of vintage brass and a lot of scale here, with the tiny unicorn. I used to play the United States puzzle with my Grandfather. The turtle is sitting on a memory card gameΒ you probably played as a kid?Β Beautiful mid-century animal illustrations by Charley Harper.

IMG_9198IMG_9199

My favorite styling books and a little Gustav held up by some vintage walruses! There’s a lot of warm colors working here: creams, reds, yellows…and then just a dash of cool with blues and greens coming in from the art work and books and the bowl (which is for keys and clutter).

I left my security camera in the photos for a bit of realism. Ha!

I’m so excited to have it! I ordered this piece off Etsy, like my tiny chairs. This is my 2nd online furniture purchase and while I hate the shipping cost…it seems to be worthwhile!!

The styling books on the credenza are:

Spruce (A lively upholstery book)
Dorothy Rodgers My Favorite Things (of Rodgers and Hammerstein)
The Perfectly Imperfect Home (the Bible!)
Styled
The Book of Decorating

and one I just received but haven’t found a home for but highly recommend if you love mid-century furniture like I do, Fifties House. There are pages and pages of inspiring photos, including my all time favorite house, The Miller House!

Next month I am taking another trip back to Los Angeles (it got its hold on me last September when we went to the desert!) and I’ll be touring the Eames House. I haven’t looked at any pictures because I want to be surprised by what I see. Looking forward to coming back as refreshed/renewed/inspired as last trip!

4 thoughts on “Credenza styling

  1. I love the look of your credenza and the retro vibe, but I’m wondering how I do this without my own buffet just looking cluttered? Yours look stylish and intentional. When I put that much stuff out, it looks like I need to clean house and put away my junk.

    • Laurie, I would just play with different objects, different stacks of books, etc. Also, maybe you only want to do 3 things. 2 is too few but 4 might be too many. 3 is always the magic number (like a lamp, vase, object).

      I always like to have height on my table tops, thus the art and the lamp. Maybe it would help to start there? A large picture and a stack of books and a plant or 2? Then you can add if you need to!

      and thank you! πŸ™‚

  2. Reblogged this on Look At My Homes Blog and commented:
    When decorating your home, you don’t have to spend a lot of money to create an attractive display on a credenza or coffee table. Look how this decorator transformed everyday elements into a beautiful display.

Leave a Reply

