E-terior designer

I applied for an e-terior design position. They didn’t like my work but I did so I’m posting it here.

The sample brief read something like, client wants an eclectic/bohemien space with a new sofa, rug, and all the fixin’s. She wanted it to look collected over the time. Likes modern furniture as well as vintage pieces. I had several real room snap shots of a badly lit room to look at and $5000 to spend and was to create a visual representation of my room idea to show the client.

Here is what I sent in. Now, I did get lazy and did not recreate a lot of stuff in the room. Like behind the sofa in the actual house was the kitchen. I didn’t want to recreate the kitchen. I don’t know if my laziness cost me the job or if my lack of formal training in interior design was the culprit (let’s go with that). Anyway, I know I would have been great for the job. Your loss, ——-.

Behind the chairs was a fireplace and built-ins and on the wall was a built-in bar. In the original set up, the sofa was up to the bar, and the chairs backed to the patio doors. I thought that was bad flow and rearranged. All the empty space in the back is where the real life kitchen was but like I said, I didn’t want to draw all that in!

I thought the room had a richness, and definitely looks global and collected. And there are enough elements for boho. The foundation is certainly there. You don’t have to do jewel tones to have boho. I’m not sure if they knew that or not. Oh well! If you’re proud of your work and stand by it, I think that is all that matters 🙂

If you’d like links for any of these products, please let me know. The sofa is ikea, chairs chairish, mirrors, rug, and tiny credenza are one kings lane. The pillows and table lamp are target. The black framed art is minted. The large print is lola donoghue. The pouf, floor lamp, and book ends are World Market. The marble coffee table is West Elm. And the side table is Anthropologie. The flower pot is Modernica. and The fur acrylic table was in the client photos.

RUTHmirandarodgers

ruthroom

Leave a Reply

