mi casa soon to be su casa?

So, I started looking outside my comfort zone into an area of town where rent is cheap and people are more diverse. The feel is much more of a community: people tending to their yards, children playing outside, etc. My current neighborhood is more pristine with tree lined streets and well kept buildings and houses and while people are always out jogging and playing in the parks with their dogs, it doesn’t really feel like a community of home owners or neighbors.

But in this other bustling area of town the apartments are god awful. Rent is cheaper but the apartments are gross. I just cannot live in shambles. I can’t. I won’t. I’m not. I went in one that was smaller than what I currently have not and reeked of cat urine. And they wanted $800 for it. It was a shoe box! No way sir. No way. That’s over a $100 more than I pay now!

So then I took to craigslist and found the perfect house for LESS THAN $800 in an “up and coming” area of town. I’ve never been to the east side of Birmingham, or Eastlake, I actually always thought it was further away that it is, in podunkville, but it’s very close to downtown and hello, extremely affordable.

A lot of people are telling me it’s still too transitional for a small white girl to be moving to but I think they’re just racist dummies and I’m really hopeful my application goes through. It’s a craftsman style bungalow with 3 bedrooms, a living room with my beloved built-ins, a dining room and a laundry room, a basement, a screened in porch, a large backyard, a garage…are you picking up what I’m putting down? This is an awesome deal!

(Let’s pretend this is full of books and much loved knickknacks and not bad photoshopping…haha…. )

houseplay

IMG_1854 IMG_1855 IMG_1858 IMG_1859

Enough natural light comes in by day to paint the living room white and go forward with my living room plan as best as the space will allow. The 2 blue chairs could flank the built-ins.Β I could plant hydrangeas and ferns out front and get pretty outdoor furniture for the porch.Β I mean, I’m getting ahead of myself. I only sent in my paperwork today.

I view an apartment in my current neighborhood on Wednesday with a balcony and w/d hookups. It’s the next best thing. And it’s $700/mo. So…for $100 more a few miles away I could have an entire house. Or in the pristine part of town where I’ve always lived, where I continue to be bored and meet no one and have no new life experiences or grow as a person…I could pay $700 and Iive in a 1 bd apartment. Β Swell.

One thought on “mi casa soon to be su casa?

  1. This house your going to buy looks familiar, like a house of a blogger friend who left the house for a new one quite recently, few months back I think. So this is interesting… house looks nice and its want you want, hope you get it, and let me check if its the same house of my blogger friend. Anyway…happy house getting and day.

Leave a Reply

