Painted furniture

draw

When I started my job and we moved into the apt last July, I guess I thought I’d be making beaucoup money. I drew this thinking our dining room would be the center of many dinner parties. Pfft! We currently don’t even have a dinner table!!  I spend my money on shoes.

After the sofa,  a proper dining room table will be the next big purchase.

Anyway, what we do have is that blue buffet. Or what I would turn into a blue buffet. It was boyfriend’s childhood chest of drawers and I think it would work so well filled with table linens and candlestick holders.

tab

Currently it is a catch-all for our junk. You can see we never hung the art like I originally planned. Asian boy was given to me by an artist friend and I do so want to get him framed! That is another to-do high on the “grown-up space” list.

I’m not sure why I wanted to paint it blue, probably because blue is such a great color. Also, a popular color. If we keep the oriental rug (and why wouldn’t we?) and the living room is always near the dining room, the blue would be a color that could carry all through the space. Flow is important!

drawers

(1, 2)

When I picture the blue I want, I thought I was picturing cornflower blue. You know, that pretty non-blue non-navy blue from the crayola box? But when I googled such crayola cornflower blue, it was shown as a sky blue or as almost a lavender? I guess testing paint colors and gathering swatches is in order. 2 things that sounds tedious and boring to me! I want to pick the color, have it be right, and get to work! Nothing is that easy.

behr_blue

This is pretty close to what I was thinking, but I do not think this is furniture paint. I know nothing about paint. High-gloss, semi-gloss, matte (okay, I know what those words mean but in terms of what type of paint goes where I am clueless). I am tempted to go out and buy a box of crayons with the hopes my blue is still being made and take THAT to the paint store.

On to drawer knobs. I know I want green glass and I imagine I would be better off just finding these in store and not online. I wish I could find larger ones because they all seem to be so dainty.

I wonder how actual glass door knobs would look? Too big? Crazy? Yeah…

knobs

(1, 2, 3, 4)

This is a project I do believe could be conquered in a weekend! I keep pushing these projects off because I am not committed to the current space. But how long is one supposed to live like that? Always in this transitional period? If I have to live in apartments, I need one I can call home, not one that just holds my stuff until I buy a house!

“Your home should be a reflection of how you want to live right now and for the next phase of your life” – Martha Stewart

One thought on “Painted furniture

  1. Pingback: The dreaded search has begun | Evolution of a Home

Leave a Reply

